Skip to content

Special Events

March 2024

Sky Hopinka

headshot of Sky Hopinka, standing, with hands in pockets, against a white wall in background

The Pratt Film/Video Department hosted an evening of conversation with Sky Hopinka on March 7th, 2024. 

Sky Hopinka (Ho-Chunk Nation/Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians) was born and raised in Ferndale, Washington and spent a number of years in Palm Springs and Riverside, California, Portland, Oregon, and Milwaukee, Wisconsin. In Portland he studied and taught chinuk wawa, a language indigenous to the Lower Columbia River Basin. His extensively award-winning video, photo, and text work centers around personal positions of Indigenous homeland and landscape, designs of language as containers of culture expressed through personal, documentary, and non-fiction forms of media.

November 2023

Charlotte Wells

Charlotte Wells holds a microphone while sitting on a red chair on a stage. She is surround by other people.

The Pratt Film/Video Department hosted an exciting conversation with filmmaker Charlotte Wells, on November 2nd, 2023. The discussion was hosted Professor Dianne Bellino and students in the Fall 2023 Fiction II class.

Charlotte Wells is a Scottish filmmaker based in New York. She is a graduate of the MBA/MFA dual-degree program at NYU where she wrote and directed short films Blue Christmas (2017), Laps (2016), and Tuesday (2016), and produced many more. Charlotte was a Fellow at the 2020 Sundance Institute Screenwriters and Directors Labs with her first feature Aftersun, which premiered in Semaine de la Critique at Cannes in 2022. Aftersun won her the 2023 BAFTA Film Awards for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director, or Producer, and the 2022 Gotham Independent Film Awards Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award.

October 2023

Anna Boden

Anna Boden sits on a red chair while holding a microphone

The Pratt Film/Video Department was pleased to present an evening with filmmaker Anna Boden in conversation with Professor Eliza Hittman, on October 26th, 2023.

Anna Boden is an American Filmmaker who works alongside Ryan Fleck, her filmmaking partner, whom she has worked with since meeting in college in NYC more than twenty years ago. With roots in documentary and independent film, they are also known for co-writing and directing the billion-dollar box office-grossing film Captain Marvel. In 2006, Fleck and Boden made the award-winning film Half Nelson starring Ryan Gosling, who received an Academy Award® nomination for his performance. They next wrote and directed the independent film Sugar, an introspective sports drama following the life of a talented Dominican baseball player, which won Movie of the Year at the AFI Awards and received a Spirit Award nomination for Best Screenplay. In television, Fleck & Boden directed and executive produced the Emmy Award-winning limited series Mrs. America starring Cate Blanchett for FX and recently finished work on Masters Of The Air, executive produced by Tom Hanks, Steven Spielberg, and Gary Goetzman for Apple TV+.

April 2023

Kelly Reichardt

Kelly Reichardt is an acclaimed feature filmmaker and one of the great, essential talents of American independent cinema.

a group of people, standing for a picture, smiling, possibly backstage at a theater

Her latest film Showing Up, starring Michelle Williams and Hong Chau, premiered in competition at the Cannes Film Festival 2022 and opened in theaters in April 2023. Her feature films include: River of Grass (1994), Old Joy (2006), Wendy and Lucy (2008), Meeks Cutoff (2010), Night Moves (2013), Certain Women (2016), First Cow (2019), and Showing Up (2022). Special screenings include the Venice International Film Festival, Sundance Film Festival, Viennale Film Festival, Berlin International Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival, International Film Festival Rotterdam, BFI London Film Festival, New York Film Festival, Whitney Biennial, and a retrospective of Reichardt’s work at the Center Pompidou in October 2021.

November 2022

Elegance Bratton

headshot of Elegance Bratton

Elegance Bratton was born in Jersey City, and raised in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. At age 16, he was kicked out of his home for being gay and spent 10 years being homeless before joining the Marines. He served as a combat camera production specialist in Camp H.M. Smith in Hawaii, shooting videos and taking photographs. He graduated from Columbia University with a degree in African American Studies, and received his MFA from New York University Tisch School of the Arts for directing and writing. 

Elegance is a critically acclaimed documentary and narrative filmmaker. He began his career writing, directing, and producing a variety of projects including the short film Walk for Me, the reality television series My House, and the documentary film Pier Kids, available on the Criterion Channel. His narrative film directorial debut, The Inspection, based on his own experience, premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival and screened at the New York Film Festival in 2022.

September 2022

Owen Kline

headshot of Owen Kline

Owen Kline is a New York-based filmmaker, actor, screenwriter and cartoonist, best known for his directorial debut Funny Pages (2022) and his role as Frank Berkman in The Squid And The Whale. Before Funny Pages, Kline directed the delirious Jazzy for Joe (2014) starring the late talk show legend Joe Franklin raising an abandoned baby found on his doorstep. He attended Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, studying illustration and film.


  • Jessica Kingdon (2022)
  • Apichatpong Weerasethakul (2022)
  • Glenn Ficarra and John Requa (2022)
  • Ryusuke Hamaguchi (2021)
  • Alice Rohrwacher (2021)
  • Garrett Bradley (2020)
  • Nia DaCosta (2020)
  • Brandon Harris (2020)
  • Charles Burnett (2020)  
  • Jeff Preiss (2020) 
  • Kirsten Johnson (2019)
  • Trinh T. Minh-ha (2018)
  • Jim Jarmusch (2018)
  • Lucrecia Martel (2017)
  • Werner Herzog (2017)
  • Jeremiah Zagar (2017)
  • William Caballero (2017)
  • Anna Rose Holmer (2016)
  • Katja Blichfeld and Ben Sinclair (2016)
  • Terence Nance (2016)
  • Edward Lachman (2016)
  • Peggy Ahwesh (2015)
  • Kelly Reichardt (2015)
  • Sam Green (2015)
  • Alex Rivera (2015)
  • Barbara Hammer (2015)
  • Lynne Sachs (2014)
  • Travis Mathews and Keith Wilson (2014)
  • Peter Snowdon and Bruno Tracq (2014)
  • Sebastian Silva (2014)
  • Peter Mettler (2013)
  • Debra McGuire (2013)
  • The Yes Men with Igor Vamos (2013)
  • Chico Pereira (2013)
  • Eve Sussman (2013)