Pratt Institute will present Legends 2010, a scholarship benefit honoring fashion designer Tommy Hilfiger; artist Ellsworth Kelly, who attended Pratt in the 1940s; and philanthropist and patron of the arts Emily Fisher Landau on Wednesday, October 20, 2010 at 7 World Trade Center at 250 Greenwich Street in Manhattan. The event begins with a cocktail reception at 6 p.m. and will be followed by a 7 p.m. dinner and awards ceremony and dessert reception and special performance by Grammy Award-winning singer and songwriter Rosanne Cash. Tickets are required.

Legends 2010 will be hosted by Pratt President Thomas F. Schutte and Board of Trustees Chair Mike Pratt. Trustees Kurt Andersen and Amy Capellazzo, and Pratt friend Marjorie Kuhn are serving as co-chairs of the event.

The Legends Awards were conceived in 1999 by the Board of Trustees to celebrate distinguished individuals and companies in the world of art and design, whose accomplishments and values resonate with those of Pratt Institute.

The event's mission is to raise funds to provide financial aid to Pratt students based on need and merit. Eighty percent of Pratt's students require financial aid to pursue their educations. Every dollar raised through Legends strengthens the student body by increasing the scholarship endowment-allowing the most qualified students an opportunity to attend one of the world's foremost schools of art, design, and architecture, regardless of their financial background.

Past Legends Awards recipients include Ralph Appelbaum, Dale Chihuly, Fleur Cowles, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Michele Oka Doner, Cathy Hardwick, Al Hirschfeld, Marc Jacobs, Helmut Jahn, Kenneth Lane, Naomi Leff, John Loring, Peter Marino, Mary McFadden, Richard Meier, Takashi Murakami, Beverly Pepper, Karim Rashid, Joan Rivers, David Rockwell, James Rosenquist, Julian Schnabel,Robert Siegel, Victor Skrebneski, Patti Smith, Barbara Tober, Pauline Trigère, Emanuel Ungaro, Bruce Weber, Stephan Weiss, Reba White Williams and Dave Williams, Robert Wilson, and Eva Zeisel. Past Corporate Legends include Lawrence Herbert, Pantone, Inc; Joseph Pacifico, CulinArt, Inc.; and Philip Morris.

To pre-order tickets or request an invitation please contact or visit Members of the press who are interested in covering the event may contact Mara McGinnis at 718.636.3471 or

Photo Credits (L to R clockwise): Richard Phibbs, Jack Shear, and Matthew Roberts.