Pratt Manhattan Gallery is presenting “Project 35,” an exhibition of video works selected by 35 international curators in commemoration of exhibition producer Independent Curators International’s (ICI) 35th year now through July 30, 2011. Each of the curators was invited to select one artist’s video that they think is important for contemporary art audiences across the globe. The exhibition is free and open to the public. Pratt Manhattan Gallery is located at 144 West 14th Street, Second Floor.
“Project 35” showcases a new exhibition concept for ICI, with an eclectic compilation of works that reveal the global reach that video has achieved as a contemporary art medium. The exhibition includes 35 videos on 16 screens that reveal the diversity of approaches artists are now taking to the medium. The artists featured use various animations techniques and borrow from the language of cinema, performance, and YouTube to produce work that weaves between documentary and fiction. The subject matter ranges from reinterpretations of philosophical propositions to uprisings and protests in South Africa, propaganda news broadcasts in China, and emerging youth culture in Ho Chi Minh City.
“Project 35” is a traveling exhibition produced and circulated by ICI, New York. The exhibition recalls the founding initiatives of ICI and the organization’s first exhibition – a video art survey of that featured work by pioneers in their field that toured internationally.With Project 35, ICI further draws from its extensive international network of curators formed over the past 35 years to organize a new exhibition of international video art, and support new collaborations between curators, artists and exhibitions spaces on national and international platforms.
Artists/Curators Include:
·       Vyacheslav Akhunov (Uzbekistan)/Viktor Misiano (Russia)
·       Meris Angioletti (Italy)/Francesco Manacorda (Italy)
·       Alexander Apóstol (Venezuela and Spain)/Ruth Auerbach (Venezuela)
·       Vartan Avakian (Lebanon)/Jack Persekian (Palestine)
·       Azorro Group – Oskar Dawicki, Igor Krenz, Wojciech Niedzielko and Lukas Skapski (Poland)/Sergio Edelsztein (Argentina/Israel)
·       Sammy Baloji (DR Congo)/Bisi Silva (Nigeria)
·       Yason Banal (Phillipines)/Joselina Cruz (Phillipines)
·       Guy Ben-Ner (Israel)/Mai Abu ElDahab (Egypt and Belgium)
·       Manon de Boer (The Netherlands and Belgium)/Lars Bang Larsen (Denmark)
·       Andrea Büttner (Germany and United Kingdom)/Chus Martinez (Spain)
·       Robert Cauble (United States)/Raimundas Malasauskas (Lithuania and France)
·       Chen Chieh-jen (Taiwan)/Amy Cheng (Taiwan)
·       Chto delat – What is to be done? (Russia)/WHW (Croatia)
·       Angela Detanico and Rafael Lain (Brazil)/Ana Paula Cohen (Brazil)
·       Kota Ezawa (Germany and United States)/Constance Lewallen (United States)
·       Jos de Gruyter and Harald Thys (Belgium)/Anthony Huberman (Switzerland and United States)
·       Tamar Guimarães (Brazil and Denmark)/Julieta Gonzalez (Venezuela)
·       Dan Halter (Zimbabwe and South Africa)/Kathryn Smith (South Africa)
·       Ranbir Kaleka (India)/Deeksha Nath (India)
·       Beryl Korot (United States)/Susan Sollins (United States)
·       Nestor Kruger (Canada)/David Moos (Canada)
·       Daniela Paes Leao (Portugal and The Netherlands)/Yane Calovski (Macedonia)
·       Anja Medved (Slovenia)/ Charles Esche (United Kingdom and The Netherlands)
·       Tracey Moffatt (Australia) with Gary Hillberg/Alexie Glass-Kantor (Australia)
·       Tuan Andrew Nguyen and Phù Nam Thúc Hà (Vietnam)/Zoe Butt (Australia and Vietnam)
·       Ho Tzu Nyen (Singapore)/Weng Choy Lee (Singapore)
·       Elodie Pong (Switzerland)/Mirjam Varadinis (Switzerland)
·       Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz (United States)/Franklin Sirmans (United States)
·       Tracey Rose (South Africa)/Simon Njami (Cameroon and France)
·       Edwin Sánchez (Colombia)/José Roca (Colombia)
·       Michael Stevenson (New Zealand and Germany)/Magali Arriola (France and Mexico)
·       Stephen Sutcliffe (United Kingdom)/Hans Ulrich Obrist (Switzerland and United Kingdom)
·       Yukihiro Taguchi (Japan and Germany)/Mami Kataoka (Japan)
·       Ulla Von Brandenburg (Germany and France)/Lauri Firstenberg (United States)
·       Zhou Xiaohu (China)/Lu Jie (China)
The exhibition and tour are made possible, in part, by grants from the Cowles Charitable Trust, Foundation for Contemporary Art, Foundation To-Life, Inc., the Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, and The Toby Fund; the ICI Board of Trustees; and ICI Benefactors Barbara and John Robinson. Project 35 also benefited from donations made to ICI’s Access Fund, created to widen the reach of ICI programs – Burt Aaron, Bobbie Brown and Steven Plofker, Jim Cohan, Phillip Drill, Leslie Fritz, Marilyn and Stephen Greene, Agnes Gund, Ken Kuchin, Gerrit and Sydie Lansing, Jo Carole Lauder, Janelle Reiring, Patterson Sims, Bill and Ruth True, August Uribe, Frank and Margo Walter, Helene Winer, and Virginia and Bagley Wright.
For more information on “Project 35” and upcoming Pratt Manhattan Gallery exhibitions, please call 212-647-7778, email, or visit Add Pratt Manhattan Gallery on Facebook by searching “Pratt Manhattan Gallery” and follow Pratt Exhibitions on Twitter at “PrattGallery.”
“Project 35”
June 17 – July 30, 2011
Pratt Manhattan Gallery
144 West 14th Street, 2nd Floor
Opening Reception: June 16 from 6-8 PM
Gallery Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 11 AM  to 6 PM