Group photograph of a professor and students sitting in a circle looking at picture books

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Council was launched in 2019 to implement the Pratt Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Strategic Plan. The DEI Council is Chaired by Nsombi B. Ricketts, Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, and consists of four subcommittees: Welcoming Environment, Recruiting and Retaining Diverse Students, Hiring and Retaining Diverse Faculty and Staff, and Expanding “Beyond the Gates.”

DEI Council Membership

Welcoming Environment 

Chair - Jazmin Peralta, Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Cathleen Kenny, Vice President for Finance and Administration
Donna Heiland, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Rhonda Schaller, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
Dennis Mazone, Assistant Vice President for Campus Safety and Preparedness
Cristobal Stewart, Assistant Dean, Continuing and Professional Studies
Judit Torok, Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
Kristin Oberheide, Director of International Affairs
Judith-Faith Williams Cadet, Title IX Coordinator
Ágnes Mócsy, Professor of Math and Science
Elise Kaufman, Adjunct Associate Professor in Foundation Art
Sarah Kanu, Student Government Association DEI Chair
Elliott Hadwin, Graduate Student, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Information

Recruiting and Retaining Diverse Students

Chair - Dustin Liebenow, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management
Helen Matusow-Ayres, Vice President for Student Affairs
Nedzad Goga, Executive Director of Student Financial Services & Compliance
Mike Farnham, Director of Academic Advising
Amanda Diaz, Director of Higher Education Opportunities Program (HEOP)
Martha Cedarholm, Senior Student Advocate, and Care Coordinator
Elisabeth Sullivan, Director of the Learning Access Center
Tara Kopp, Deputy Director, Center for Art, Design, and Community Engagement K-12
Tyler Cino Maradiaga, Program Coordinator for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Nida Abdullah, Assistant Professor in UG Communications Design, Continuing and Professional Studies
Mónica Ramón Ríos, Visiting Instructor in Social Science & Cultural Studies
Ayesha Agha, Graduate Student, School of Architecture
Tamia Bailey, Student Government Association Student Life Chair

Hiring and Retaining Diverse Faculty and Staff

Hiring Chair - Steven Riccobono, Assistant Vice President of Human Resources
Kirk Pillow, Provost
Chris Sula, Associate Professor, School of Information, and President, Academic Senate
Laurel Voss, Assistant Provost for Academic Administration
Camille Martin-Thomsen, Assistant Dean of the School of Design
Donna Gorsline, Assistant to the Dean of the School of Design

Retention Chair - Farzam Yazdanseta, Assistant Chairperson of Undergraduate Architecture
Jessica Tallman, Executive Director of Development
Tom Greene, Director of Legal Affairs
Christopher Ruggieri, Assistant Director for Residential Life, and President, Staff Council
Elizabeth Farrell, Human Resources Generalist
Meg Humphrey, Executive Assistant, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Expanding “Beyond the Gates”

Chair - Allison Druin, Associate Provost for Research and Strategic Partnerships
James Kempster, Vice President for Communications and Marketing
Joseph Hemway, Vice President for Information Technology & CIO
Daphne Halpern, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Maira Seara, Dean of Continuing & Professional Studies
Nicole Haas, Chief of Staff to the President
Adam Friedman, Director of the Pratt Center
Walter Rickard, Director of Athletics
Russell Abell, Director of Libraries
Jelani Bandele, Events Associate, The Black Alumni of Pratt
Hera Marashian, Associate Director of Career Development and Industry Relations
Ane Gonzalez Lara, Assistant Professor in Undergraduate Architecture
Yutaka Takiura, Visiting Associate Professor in Design Management